World Series History

The first official World Series was contested in 1903 between the Boston Americans (Currently the Boston Red Sox) and the Pittsburgh Pirates (Currently the Pittsburgh Pirates).

Boston upset Pittsburgh five games . Yes, you read that it was an eight-game series.
The American League has won 65 of the 114 World Series championships. The Yankees lead the charge with 27 titles in only 40 appearances — something Yankees fans will not let you forget… EVER.
The next-best revealing in the American League is the Oakland Athletics, who have won nine of their 14 appearances. Some of those appearances came when they had been the Philadelphia Athletics when the group was established in Kansas City, and none came. The Red Sox have won eight of the 12 appearances and such as the Yankees, their fans will not allow you to forget it.
In the National League, St. Louis is in the lead with 11 wins in its 19 appearances, followed by the San Francisco Giants — formerly the New York Giants of the“Shot heard’round the world!“ Fame — winning eight of their 20 appearances. The LA Dodgers have won six of their 18 appearances with some of those wins happening when the team was based in Brooklyn.
There are two teams that have to play at a World Series — the Seattle Mariners and the Washington Nationals. A number people are OK with this because the Montreal Expos never left it to the World Series and it’s DC’s turn to suffer.
A group has not won consecutive World Series since the Yankees took the championship in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Bear in mind the four that are core? Only one of them was recorded in the Mitchell Report. Can you guess which one? Here is a hint: It is not Mariano Rivera because he was too busy becoming a fantastic person.

Read more here:

Comments are closed.